Wheat & Rye

Wheat & Rye is a local favorite known for huge stacked sandwiches and great drink specials. My parents went there when they were younger and it’s a place I’ve visited a few times. Of course, the Allen Park location has been revamped since back in the day, but if you’re looking for a neighborhood place to relax and watch the game, check out Wheat & Rye and grab a burger!

Mom and I met a couple of her high school friends, Robin, Marcia, and Greg (Marcia’s husband). Mom and I split the stacked ham sandwich (Yes, it’s big enough to share)! I remembered my dad telling me stories about how big the sandwiches used to be and how inexpensive, but this one was still a good size for around $10 including tip.

Stacked Ham Sandwich: Virginia Ham piled on an onion roll served with a kosher dill pickle. The ham wasn’t your average deli thin sliced, it was thick cut, caramelized edges, and delicious. The only thing I didn’t like was that it was a little dry. I don’t really care for mayonnaise, but a little horseradish would’ve put this sandwich over the edge. I settled for good old yellow mustard.

Image

The service wasn’t the best, but in my experience, bars and dives like the Wheat & Rye only have one or two servers/bartenders for the whole place so when it’s busy, your drinks will get neglected. I need lots of water when eating a salty ham sandwich, too. For a Wednesday night, the place was half full, but the Tiger’s were playing and it was all you can eat Spaghetti night! Check out the Wheat & Rye of you haven’t already for daily food and drinks specials. If you want a local bar that’s not too crowded to watch your favorite team, they have flat screens and Keno!

It was good to see you guys. Thanks Robin, Marcia, and Greg!

I have to go get ready for tonight, Josh bought me tickets to Dane Cook for my birthday ❤

Wheat & Rye Steak House on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

