Homemade Chili

This is Ma’s recipe that I have made my own by adding my own special touches. It’s really easy and perfect on a cold day, on hot dogs, or as a dip for game day.

What you’ll need:

16 oz water

1 can chili beans

1 packet of chili seasoning

1 large diced white onion

3 green onions

12 oz diced tomatoes (use 1 can if you don’t have fresh)

1 lb ground turkey or beef (I used organic ground beef)

1-2 cans tomato sauce

1 diced green pepper

1 diced red pepper

1 celery rib

Cumin, garlic, salt & pepper

Prep:

1. Start by “layering” your ingredients and flavors. Start browning the meat. Since I used organic, it was very lean and I didn’t need to drain off any unwanted grease.

2. When the beef is 3/4 of the way cooked, add onion and cook until meat is browned.

3. Add the rest of the diced veggies, water, beans, and seasoning.

4. Add the water and tomato sauce in phases. I add half of what the recipe calls for to start, then taste. Then I add the rest of whatever it needs.

Tip: If you don’t like your chili chunky like I do, take a potato masher and work the chili until desired consistency is met.

Adding more water helps thin it out also.

Image

Cook:

Let the flavors get to know each other for a half hour. I normally will let them cook for an hour or so, depending on how much laundry I have to do. When it comes to making chili, cumin is your friend! Add as much as you like. If you ask me, there’s no such thing as too much cumin so don’t be shy! Add, taste, repeat.

Eat: 

Add cheese for a delicious dip.

Top with shredded cheese and green onions for a hearty meal.

Dress up hotdogs or hamburgers.

Image

Image

This is seriously my favorite chili. It has a little spice, but perfectly balanced chili flavor. I know what you’re thinking, “Of course I’m going to say that, I made it.” Try this recipe and see for yourself. Any questions, just ask!

http://www.thenewsherald.com/?rss=news

Leave a Reply

