Zakey Middle Eastern Cuisine

Today on the Bite Tonight: Zakey

The next stop on my Traverse City trip is Zakey located on E Front St. right downtown. There are not many Middle Eastern restaurants in Traverse City, so Zakey is the place to go when you have a craving for culture. Zakey features belly dancers and unfortunately not during our lunch visit, but we still dined. See how they ranked.

Atmosphere: 2 out of 5 bites

Price: 2 out of 5 bites

Quality/Taste: 3 out of 5 bites

Service: 3 out of 5 bites

Wow Factor: 1 out of 5 bites

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hummus: I really liked that the hummus came topped with pickled veggies and chick peas. I just wished there was more of it!

hummus

Cucumber Yogurt Salad: Diced cucumbers topped with plain yogurt, olive oil, and fresh herbs. Tangy, fresh, and crunchy.

cuke salad

Lamb Shawarma with a side Fatoush salad: I’m more of a “chicken shawarma” kind of gal, but I stepped out of the box and went with lamb this time. It was pretty good, but I was missing the pickles and garlic sauce in this shawarma. The salad was fresh and delicious.

lamb shawarma

I liked that Zakey has their own thing going on, but being so close to Dearborn, I am a little biased when it comes to Middle Eastern food. I thought the food was good, but not the typical shawarma that I am used to. Service was good, but the food was pricey for the portion size. If you get a chance, stop in and see the belly dancers!

Zakey on Urbanspoon

2 comments

  1. thank you for being a guest in my little restaurant.i hope you enjoyed your visit.i did not think it was pricey when you factor the delivery charge from Dearborn up to traverse city,not to mention the labor cost, also 90% of my guests are comfortable with the pricing, which gave me the impression that I did not raise my prices and it has stayed this way for two years, In Dearborn they serve beef shawarma not lamb, and there is a big difference between the two..texture, etc,..maybe that was the difference, I hope you revisit us soon and know that anything you prefer is the way I shall make it..that is something I am well known for. Thank you for the comments, Hope to see you soon,
    Zakey Owner, Nabiel

    Like

    1. Hi Zakey,

      Sorry for the delay in response. Better late than never, right?! Thank you for reading and commenting. Please know that blogs are mainly opinion and I do not seek to “bad mouth” any restaurant. I just want to share my experiences with my readers. My reviews are compared to my experiences and I do live very close to Dearborn and have experienced some delicious food and not so delicious food. I understand your reasoning for your prices and appreciate the clarification. It is important to keep your customers happy and it sounds like you are doing just that! Thank you for the invite. I know that your restaurant is my one of my cousins favorite places and if I am ever in the area, I will definitely come back. Happy Holidays!

      Like

Leave a Reply

