Maccabees at Midtown

Today on the Bite Tonight: Maccabees at Midtown

Located on Woodward Ave, in Midtown Detroit right by Wayne State, Maccabees at Midtown has an old fashioned, elegant feel which reminded me of a modern day speak easy. With ornate decor, and some of the most comfortable chairs I’ve ever sat in, Maccabees is good if you’re feeling like comfort food or something sophisticated. The menu consists of Angus beef burgers, starters, pasta, chicken and steak and some unique dishes such as pistachio crusted grouper and lobster BLT.

So for my friend Allison’s birthday, I wanted to take her to try the potato pancake sandwiches. They caught my eye the minute I spotted them on the menu and I’ve been dying to try them. See how they ranked.

Atmosphere: 4 out of 5 bites

Quality/Taste: 4 out of 5 bites

Price: 3.5 out of 5 bites

Service: 3 out of 5 bites

Wow Factor: 3 out of 5 bites

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Drink that eats like a meal.

Blood Mary: Great flavor with a touch of spice.

bloodymary

Allison’s pick:

Lone Ranger: Brisket, grilled onions, provolone, Chipotle mayo. Probably one of the best sandwiches I’ve had in a while. The grilled onions and tender, thinly slice brisket were full of flavor and decadence. With each bite, sweet, salty, and savory all hit your taste buds at once.The cool and spicy Chipotle mayo lightened up the beefiness of this sandwich. Now, here’s where things got real. With me being Polish, I knew I would like the potato pancake, but it was beyond anything I could imagine. It was crispy, yet soft and the perfect replacement for bread. I didn’t even have to worry about the potato pancake getting soggy! I would suggest getting one when dining in, then another to go. Eats best with a knife and fork.

lone ranger

My pick:

Midtown: Pastrami with 1000 Island dressing. I made a good call and got a side of the Chipotle mayo. The pastrami was tender, lean and thinly sliced with a hint of salt. Honestly, it was good, but didn’t compare to the Long Ranger.

pastrami

Allison’s birthday cookie!

cookie cake

Service was good and our server sent us home with cards good for 10% off our next visit. If you haven’t been to Maccabees at Midtown, you have to go and try the potato pancake sandwiches. It makes so much sense to use potato pancakes instead of bread that I don’t know why other restaurants aren’t following suit. It’s an amazing and delicious culinary creation and I can’t wait until my next visit. My mouth is already watering!

Happy Birthday, Allison! Hope you had as much fun as I did. πŸ™‚

Click to add a blog post for Maccabees At Midtown on Zomato

3 comments

Leave a Reply

