HopCat Detroit

One of Downtown Detroit’s newest neighbor: HopCat

With 7 locations in the Midwest, HopCat recently moved into a new home on Woodward Ave in Midtown, Detroit. With over 130 craft beers on tap and a menu consisting of scratch made grub, the bar and restaurant opened it’s doors in December 2014. They are getting tons of exposure and Food Network just named HopCat’s crack fries America’s Top 10 Best French Fries in their July-August addition. Since neither of us had been, a co-worker, April and I decided to check out what all the fuss was about. See how they ranked.

Atmosphere: 4.5 out of 5 bites

Price: 4 out of 5 bites

Quality/Taste: 4 out of 5 bites

Service: 4 out of 5 bites

Wow Factor: 4 out of 5 bites

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We started with Blake’s Hard Cider: Light, crisp, and refreshing.

cider

My pick

Nacho Burger: Pepper jack cheese, avocado, spicy fried jalapeño peppers, tortilla strips, and pico de gallo served with crack fries. Delicious! I thought the south of the border heat would be too spicy for me, but the fried jalapeno’s were surprisingly subtle. The creaminess of the avocado with the crunchy tortilla strips really amped up this burger. Oh the crack fries! I had mixed feelings about these because I thought how good could fries be? They were awesome! Super crunchy,  lightly seasoned, and perfectly golden. The flavor was elevated to another level when dunked in creamy ranch. Yum!

nacho burger

April’s pick

Turkey Burger: Our house-made, herbed turkey burger patty is topped with chilled marinated tomatoes, basil, lemon, garlic & feta cheese crumbles with spinach & pesto aioli. I didn’t try this one, but April told me it was yummy.I really liked that the toppings were full of flavor because sometimes a turkey burger can be labeled as boring. The lemon and pesto aioli really added brightness and the feta gave this burger that mouth watering saltiness.

turkey burger

Lucky for us it was happy hour which means half off burgers and $3 select drinks! Service was good and the food was pretty tasty as well. I will be honest, I wanted to wait until all the hype of the opening died down. I heard horror stories about how busy HopCat was when they first opened and how service suffered as a result. We went after work on a Tuesday and it wasn’t busy at all. I also really dig how important the environment is to the HopCat’s owners. They recycle and compost as much of their waste as possible. HopCat offers gluten free beer and food items and growlers to fill with your favorite brew. The only bad thing would be the parking. They offer valet and have suggested parking on the website. If you haven’t made a trip in, put it next on your grocery list!

Thanks for great conversation, April! Let’s do it again soon.

Click to add a blog post for Hopcat on Zomato

2 comments

  1. Hopcat opened here in Ann Arbor at the same time and ive been there a few times. Love love love the beer and their featuring ones from MI. The burgers alll sound great woth the wild toppings but the execution isnt there. Either always overcooked or toppings not having that much flavor. I did like the crack fries the first time but the other times were overloaded with salt. I’ll pribably keep going back for the beer and save my appetite for other places. Great review!

    Like

    1. Sorry for the delay in response. Thank you for reading and commenting! I can see how you think the burgers need some improvement. Prior to my visit, I heard similar things so I didn’t know what to expect. I actually waited a while to stop in because I didn’t want to be disappointed. My experience was pretty good. Hopefully, they continue to improve. Happy Holidays!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

