Vicente's Cuban Cuisine

Located in Downtown Detroit, Vicente’s Cuban Cuisine is a colorful change to your average restaurant. I’ve been meaning to try Vicente’s ever since my last trip to Miami. So last weekend, Allison, Emily, and myself decided to take the trip. We sat on the patio because we just didn’t feel like waiting 45 min to sit inside a packed dining room. Plus, the patio was cool, breezy, and allowed for people watching and conversation. See how Vicente’s ranked.

Atmosphere: 4 out of 5 bites

Price: 3.5 out of 5 bites

Quality/Taste: 4 out of 5 bites

Service: 4 out of 5 bites

Wow Factor: 3.5 out of 5 bites

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sangria: Delicious blend of red wine, fresh fruit, and brandy. I’m sure there was some other amazing ingredients added that made this sangria the best I’ve ever had.  I could taste a hint of cinnamon, but it was very subtle. I like that the taste of strong alcohol didn’t slap you in the face when you took a drink. The pitcher was served with all sangria, not watered down with ice, for $35. What a steal for 7 glasses.

SANGRIA

Bread: Fresh and soft with a chewy crust. The dip tasted like a red pepper butter spread and was excellent.

bread and dip

We decided to order a bunch of tapas (appetizers) and share. It worked out really well.

Lobster Bisque: Rich, creamy, and smooth. You could really taste the lobster, which was almost too much for me. I definitely couldn’t eat a while cup.

lobster bisque

Tostones: Double fried green plantain, topped with light garlic. Crispy with a subtle garlic flavor. The only think I didn’t like was that these were a little dry.

plantains

Papas Rellenas: Delicious seasoned mashed potatoes. Generously stuffed with flavorful ground beef. Breaded then rolled into a ball and lightly fried. I wasn’t as impressed with these as I thought I’d be. I heard very good things and think maybe my expectations were high because of that. They were still delicious and unique. Crispy, light, airy outside with a creamy mashed potato inside.

mashed pots balls

Croquetas Preparadas: Homemade ham and chicken croquettes. Not as good as in Miami, but still yummy. The filling was creamy and almost that of a pate, but still had some texture. The spicy tomato and cilantro dipping sauce was a nice, cool compliment.

croquetas

Filetillo de Lomo: Tender strips of beef sauteed with garlic, onions, mushrooms, and peppers in a Rioja wine sauce. Rich, meaty, and the perfect amount of salt and savory.

beef strips

vicentes

I was really impressed with Vicente’s. The service was great and the food was delicious. It was a little pricey, between $18-30 for dinner prices, but the tapas were reasonably priced. Even though I hate waiting to be seated, I know when a restaurant has a wait, it’s a good thing. Pay them a visit on a weekend, Vicente’s offers salsa dancing and lessons. It’s a great, fun place with a lot of culture. I really enjoyed myself and it seemed as though everyone else did as well.
Vicente's Cuban Cuisine on Urbanspoon

3 comments

  1. Thanks for the review. Someone was just telling me about this place. Now I know what not to try. Any recommendations?

    Like

    1. I really liked the croquetas and the mashed potato balls were very unique. I hear they are popular out west and down south, but I’ve never tried them before.

      Like

  2. As a native Cuban and cook, I am a bit disappointed with this restaurant. The wonderful flavors of authentic Cuban food is vastly missing. It has been Americanized, which has done the Cuban cuisine a great disservice to the palate of it’s customers. In comparison, to the likes of Victor’s Cafe in New York, the cuisine in Vicente makes me run back to my kitchen. The music is not Cuban 50% of the time, nor is the entertainment. Overall, I will keep hoping for an adventurous Cuban Chef to open an authentic restaurant and let it’s customers REALLY taste the Cuban taste sensations.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment