Pekin Tokyo

Today on the Bite Tonight: Pekin Toyko

diningroom

Pekin Tokyo opened a couple months ago on Southfield Rd in Allen Park and fuses Korean, Thai, & Chinese Cuisine with hibachi styles of cooking and sushi! Ma and I decided to check it out last week for a belated Mother’s Day dinner. The decor is Oriental-modern, colorful and clean. See how they ranked.

Atmosphere: 4 out of 5 bites

Price: 3.75 out of 5 bites

Quality/Taste: 4 out of 5 bites

Service: 4 out of 5 bites

Wow Factor: 3 out of 5 bites

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

pekintoykomenu

Hot & Sour Soup: I’ve found that every Asian restaurant has their own variation of hot and sour soup. This one was one of the best simply because it wasn’t too hot. A subtle spicy, slightly sweet and sour (from the rice vinegar) broth containing egg, spices, and vegetables. I liked that this variation didn’t have huge chunks of tofu and it was simple.

hot and sour soup

Pan Fried Wonton: Filled with pork and served in a garlic sauce. The soft dumplings were delicious and served in a sweet , rich sauce. I really liked the crunch of the airy, white rice noodles and scallions (green onions).

gyoza

Eel Avocado Roll: Eel and avocado wrapped in seaweed and rice and topped with BBQ eel sauce. The roll was tight and didn’t fall apart while eating. The sweet sauce was delicious and the eel tasted really fresh. Hands down, this sushi beats most places in the area. I think I found my new spot!

eelavocado

General Tso’s Chicken: Crispy, golden white meat chicken with broccoli and dried pepper in slightly sweet spicy sauce. Another great dish! I am very picky with my General Tso’s Chicken and few places make it to my liking. Pekin Tokyo is one of those place. The sauce was a perfect sweet and spicy blend. The chicken was lightly breaded and tender. There is nothing worse then biting into a hunk of crunchy batter with little chicken. This crispy chicken was delicious!

general tso

Ma and I’s dinner date was great. Service was excellent with our server being  knowledgeable and pleasant. The prices were overall reasonable, but the only thing that bummed me out was that fried rice didn’t come with dinner portions and an order was $9. We didn’t want a full order and opted for the complimentary white rice which was fine. From reviews that I have read, lunch is the way to go with killer lunch specials and combination boxes. I will have to stop in for lunch and check it out!

 

Pekin Tokyo on Urbanspoon

Leave a comment